Please click on one of the following:

2001 Recipient - Honorable Isabelle Yates

Vice Mayor of Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government

Isabel Yates is a native of South Carolina, but has resided in Lexington, Kentucky for over forty years. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and holds a master's degree from Ohio State University. She is well known in Lexington for her many years of service in numerous community and civic organizations.

Among her many interests and accomplishments are serving as Chair of the University of Kentucky Center on Aging and member of the UK Development Council, President of the Philharmonic Guild and Vice-President of the Philharmonic Society, Co-chair of the Lexington Arts and Cultural Council, President of Kentucky Mother's Association and National Vice-President, Advisory Board Member and Founder, UK-LFUCG Arboretum, Chair of Midway Development Council, Board member and Chair of the UMCA "Campaign for Kids," Board member of Downtown Lexington Corporation, Blue Grass Trust, and Henry Clay Foundation.

Yates has also been active in the political world as an elected public official on the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council for eleven years. She began her term as Vice Mayor in 1999 after serving three terms as Council Representative from the 4th District. On the Council, she chaired the Intergovernmental Storm Water, Corridors, and Enhanced 911 Committees, and served on many special and ad hoc committees. Yates served as Vice Mayor until 2002 and is known for the preservation and restoration of McConnell Springs, the Hanging Baskets program, the promotion of Horse Mania, and public art in downtown Lexington. Most importantly, she provided effective leadership of the Council and served as an "Ambassador" for Lexington.

For her outstanding leadership and service to the community, Yates has received many honors, such as the YWCA "Women of Achievement Award," Lexington Arts and Cultural Council "APOLLO Award," the United Way "Cabinet Campaign Award," Kentucky Mother of the Year, Optimist Cup for Leadership, NAWBO Award for Public Policy Advocate, Honorary Chair Blue Grass Trust Antiques and Garden Show, Honoree for Alzheimer's Association, and the Hellenic Ideals Award in 2001.